BYU-Hawaii will face Seattle Pacific in opening round of NCAA II Women’s Soccer Tourney

BYU-Hawaii INDIANAPOLISBYU-Hawaii (10-4-3) will face Seattle Pacific (14-3-2) in the opening round of the NCAA Division II Women’s Soccer Championship on Thursday, Nov. 8, at 1 p.m. PST in La Jolla, Calif.

The NCAA announced announced the 48-team championship field on Monday, Nov. 5, from its headquarters in Indianapolis.

BYU-Hawaii enters the tournament as the sixth seed in the West Region and is the lone Pacific West Conference school in the tournament.

The winner of Thursday’s game will take on the tournament’s number two seed, host UC-San Diego (11-2-2), on Saturday, Nov. 10 at 6 pm PST.

The NCAA Division II Women’s Soccer Championship bracket is separated into eight regions each receiving six championship berths. Twenty automatic berths were awarded to eligible conferences.

For first- and second-round competition, teams will be paired in their respective regions with the No. 4 seed playing the No. 5 seed; and the No. 3 seed playing the No. 6 on either Nov. 8 or 9.

The winner of the No.4-5 seed game will advance to play the No. 1 seed and the winner of the No. 3-6 seed game will play the No. 2 seed on Nov. 10 or 11.

The two finalists in each region will advance to the third- and quarterfinal-round competition to be played Nov. 15 or 16 and Nov. 17 or 18. The semifinals and championship games will be played Nov. 29 and Dec. 1 at Blanchard Woods Park in Evans, Ga., and will be hosted by the Peach Belt Conference.

The Seasiders and Falcons have not played each other since September 8, 2010, when the teams battled to a 0-0 double-overtime tie. The teams also played in 2009 with the Falcons winning 1-0.

The Seasiders and Falcons have played four common opponents this season. BYU-Hawaii defeated Notre Dame de Namur 2-0 and the Falcons defeated the Argonauts 3-1.

The Seasiders lost to Azusa Pacific 1-0 while Seattle Pacific defeated the Cougars by the same score.

BYU-Hawaii played Hawai‘i Pacific twice, defeating the Sea Warriors 1-0 in the first match and tying them 2-2 in the second, while Seattle Pacific defeated HPU 3-1.

The Falcons played Western Oregon twice, tying the Wolves 1-1 in the first meeting and defeating them 2-0 in the second, while the Seasiders defeated the WOU 1-0.

This will be BYU-Hawaii’s third trip to the NCAA II Tournament in the brief, seven-year history of the program. The Seasiders lost to UC-San Diego 1-0 in both 2008 and 2010.

(BYU-Hawaii Sports Information also contributed information)