BYU-Hawaii captures 5th PacWest women’s volleyball title after 3-1 win over Chaminade

BYU-Hawaii LAIE, Hawai'i - The eighth-ranked BYU-Hawaii women's volleyball team shed an opening-set loss to win three straight sets and beat Chaminade 3-1 en route to claiming the 2012 Pacific West Conference Championship on Saturday night, Nov. 3, in Laie, Hawai'i.

The title marks the third straight for the Seasiders and the fifth since the PacWest reformed in 2006. In the seven seasons of volleyball championships, only BYU-Hawaii and Hawai'i Hilo have claimed banners.

BYU-Hawaii won titles in 2006, 2008, 2011 and 2012 and shared the 2010 championship with Hawai'i Hilo. The Vulcans claimed outright titles in 2007 and 2009.

The Seasiders recoiled from a 22-25 loss in the opening set – just their third in 15 conference matches and 11th all season - to storm by the Silverswords 25-15, 25-15, 25-13.

Until a 3-2 win over powerful Fresno Pacific early this week on Oct. 30, the Seasiders had produced a 47-set unbeaten streak and had strung together 15 straight 3-0 sweeps.

BYU-Hawaii (20-2/15-0 PacWest) previously had clinched the PacWest's automatic qualifier for the NCAA II West Region Tournament and the Seasiders have a strong shot at hosting the regional or sub-regional when the post-season begins Nov. 29.

Shih Ting Chen dropped 14 kills, Lauren Hagemeyer produced a dozen kills while hitting .429, and Courtney Skaggs turned in 11 kills, hit .600 and posted five blocks in the win.

Michelle Tevaga led the defense with 24 digs, while Ying Chun Chen unleashed 46 assists. 

The Seasiders will face the University of Hawai'i – a team ranked ninth in Division I - on Nov. 8 at 7 p.m. in Honolulu in a non-conference match before closing out the regular season on Nov. 10 at Hawai'i Hilo.

PacWest Past Women's Volleyball Champions

2012 - BYU-Hawaii

2011 - BYU-Hawaii

2010 - BYU-Hawaii & Hawai'i Hilo

2009 - Hawai'i Hilo

2008 - BYU-Hawaii

2007 - Hawai'i Hilo

2006 - BYU-Hawaii